4-h

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by thefishery, Jul 18, 2010.

1. thefishery

thefishery Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2009
    Jeffersonville
    I would like for my kids to get involved in the poultry project with 4-H. Right now they are still a little young but I've got my work cut out for me if I want them to do this. Right now our fair does not have a poultry entry. The only animals they have shows for are the cattle and sheep. There isn't a person that does the poultry project so I guess I would have to be the leader for it. I would have a lot of work to do because I am still new to chickens myself. Does anyone know if I did become a leader for the poultry project, will the fair most likely open a poultry show? I just don't see there be a reason for doing the project if there is no show to compete in at the end of the season. If they don't open up to a poultry show, what steps should I take to get it started?

2. paddock36

paddock36 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 24, 2008
    Ocala, Florida
    My boys are in 4H and our local youthfair has a poultry show but there is also a state fair that they can enter if they want to. So what about the state fair in your area? Maybe you could go that route if the local fair refuses.

3. ShysCreations

ShysCreations Chillin' With My Peeps

How about contacting your county Extension Agent? Or even neighboring counties? There may be more people interested in poultry that the Agents have been hearing from too.

4. Sonoran Silkies

Sonoran Silkies Flock Mistress

Jan 4, 2009
    Tempe, Arizona
    What part of the country are you from? Maybe someone will know of 4h clubs in your areas or poultry clubs.

When you say your fair doesn't have a poultry exhibit, do you mean a county fair? a state fair? something else? Chances are that there has not been an expressed interest, or there were poultry exhibits at one time, but they were discontinued due to lack of interest or lack of volunteers or ...