4 hens in COLD MN...coop ideas, please?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by MNMomma, Feb 19, 2017.

1. MNMomma

MNMomma Just Hatched

Feb 19, 2017
    Northern MN
    Hello,
    We're new to raising chickens. We're expecting 2 Buff Orpingtons and 2 Buckeye hens the end of March. We'll be brooding them inside, because I want to spend as much time handling them as possible. I'm looking for suggestions for an adequate coop that will get them through our cold winters. Any pics or links are greatly appreciated.
    TIA

2. flyin-lowe

flyin-lowe Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2016
    Indiana
    I've had my 9 hens for just over a year so I am not an expert by any means. I can tell you what I have learned and what has worked for me. The "typical" recommended size is 4 square foot of coop space per bird for the coop and 10 square foot per bird for a run, if they will be confined to a run. I built my coop a little larger then what I felt I needed but if I ever add more birds I can, plus they will be a little nicer to each other on those long winter stretches if they don't come out. Typically the cold alone will not be the biggest concern for them, as long as the coop is well ventilated and there is not excess moisture. The ridge cap on my coop is vented, the eaves are all open, and I have 4 windows. I left all of them open all winter. We had a pretty mild winter but we did have a few weeks with some below zero temps and wind chills -10 to -15 overnight and they did fine. I made my coop tall enough that I can get in and walk around. I also have nest boxes that are accessible from the outside. It is very nice not having to climb in the coop to gather eggs.

If you have any idea as to what type of coop you have in mind people will give you better advice and guide you along. Do you have the capabilities to build your own, are you planning to buy one that is pre built, or possible convert a shed or other type of structure?