1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

4 hens to 1 rooster okay?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by newbie32, Aug 21, 2013.

1. newbie32

newbie32 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 16, 2013
    Low Desert, CA
    Hi everybody. I think I might have a rooster in my batch of 5. I wouldn't mind too much but I am a little worried that he would stress my hens out. I heard buff orpington roosters can be very docile and easy with the ladies. I am just starting out and think more than 7 birds would be too much for me. I could only acquire 2 more hens at most, which would give me 6 hens to 1 roo. Any suggestions? All input is welcome!

2. angel8035

angel8035 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2012
    Applegate, California
    They should be fine. I had four to one for a long time and nothing bad happened. Just wait and see.

3. whitt910

whitt910 Out Of The Brooder

I have three rooster to 23 hens and they don't mind the roo's at all.I have buff orptington roo's and they're evil! I constantly have to put them in their place because they attack me. I tell my boyfriend all the time that they don't value their life.[​IMG] My RIR roo on the other hand is amazing. Either way your roo shouldn't stress your hens out. Roo's show hens what's good to eat and where is a good place and they protect them.

4. newbie32

Aug 16, 2013
    Low Desert, CA
    Well what I meant by stressing out is the act itself I guess.....I know they can be harsh and cause bold spots on the hens when there are not enough hens to go around. Wow honestly you are the first person to say the Buffs are aggressive-I WILL NOT tolerate a mean animal period. If that becomes an issue I will eat it! You can eat roosters right? LOL I know I should know that but I don't :)

5. whitt910