4 kids, 6 chickens...whew i'm tired!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by christinesrocks, Aug 22, 2013.

1. christinesrocks

christinesrocks New Egg

Aug 22, 2013
    Danville, PA
    Hello all! I'm Christine, I have 6 Barred Rocks, 2 or 3 of them may be roosters, not quite sure yet as I am new to chickens. They were hatched on April 15th, the day before my daughter (4th child) was born, so needless to say it has been an adventurous summer. The chickens have settled nicely into our family lifestyle, despite their need to occasionally poop on my front porch, I have also learned to keep the garage door shut at all times. I close them up in their hen house at night when they roost and let them out when I am home during the day, they do however have a run attached to their house also. When we go outside these guys seem to run right up to us and surround us as to say "whats up?" When they do this to my 2 year old son he gets scared and runs, sometimes having a chicken or two following him, the one day he was running across the yard yelling "TRACTOR", and got to his dads riding lawnmower, climbed up on it and felt safe, and our curious chickens were looking quite bewildered as to what just happened. My 3 year old daughter however cute she is, likes to be mischievous. While driving her power-wheels dune buggy, I caught her driving toward the flock yelling "watch out chickens, outta my way", blond pigtails billowing in the breeze behind her. her dad started running out after her, funnier yet was seeing him try to maneuver over stones in his bare feet, while quickly trying to stop our little princess from causing any chicken demise. So this is life on our little ???farm???, well not quite, maybe someday [​IMG].

2. Naunnie

Naunnie Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2013
    Buchanan, Georgia
    Howdy! [​IMG] Welcome to BYC! Kids and chickens....ain't life grand!! [​IMG]

3. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan