4 mos old filly..how hard could it be?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by RockyToggRanch, Dec 21, 2008.

1. RockyToggRanch

RockyToggRanch Chillin' With My Peeps

May 22, 2008
    Upstate NY
    I have had 2 horses for 1 1/2 yrs now. They're older and I am a beginner. I came across an ad for a 4 mos old that I fell in love with just from the picture. I have 2 twh geldings who are 12 and 20ish. I have a new barn and have room for 2 more stalls. I was just wondering...how hard can it be to train a horse? I've watched hundreds of hours of training shows and it all seems to be common sense. Would she be able to share the same paddock with my old guys or would she need her own paddock? Their stalls open to one large paddock which also has a run in shed. They are pretty much confined to that space for the winter. In summer they have small fenced grass areas that we rotate them on for a few hours each day. We're clearing land for larger pasture.

Is it a bad idea for a semi-beginner to get a baby?

2. WriterofWords

WriterofWords Has Fainting Chickens

Dec 25, 2007
    Chaparral, New Mexico
    No it is not a bad idea and don't let anyone convince you otherwise. I know I'm getting on a lot of people's bad sides lately but they just have to live with it. I'm tired of seeing opinions scaring people away from doing something they would love and enjoy. You will learn as you go, be patient with yourself and enjoy it!

3. Knight Hawk Ranch

Knight Hawk Ranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2007
    Labelle, Florida
    I really would not recommend it. Young, untrained horses act completely different than older ones that have been trained.
    Young ones need consistant handling and if you have never been around them, they can get pretty rambunctious.
    If you have someone that is experienced and willing to help you through the process that would be better than going it alone.

4. BeardedChick

BeardedChick Chillin' With My Peeps