4 week Bantam Cochins - still young, but any thoughts on sex/frizzle?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Chooksaurus, Nov 15, 2009.

1. Chooksaurus

Chooksaurus Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 8, 2009
    NW WI
    I know they are awfully young to try sexing, but what do you think? My hunch is 2 cockerels, 4 pullets, but I am pretty new at this. They were all hatched within 24 hours on October 17th-18th.

Also, am I right in thinking that I have 2 regular Cochin and 4 Frizzles?

[​IMG] [​IMG]

[​IMG] [​IMG]

[​IMG] [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. KellyHM

KellyHM Overrun With Chickens

Sep 10, 2008
    Lakeland, FL
    I see at least 2 boys and possibly a third. Definitely 4 frizzles and 2 smooth. Just keep in mind when they grow up that you can't breed frizzle to frizzle.

3. Chooksaurus

Aug 8, 2009
    NW WI
    Quote:Uh-oh...looks like I have some research to do. Is there a short answer to why you can't go frizzle/frizzle? Do they end up frazzled? [​IMG]

Any roosters will most likely be processed or re-homed, but if that little black one ends up male, it will stay. My daughter already named it, so it is permanent.

4. KellyHM

Sep 10, 2008
    Lakeland, FL
    Quote:Uh-oh...looks like I have some research to do. Is there a short answer to why you can't go frizzle/frizzle? Do they end up frazzled? [​IMG]

Any roosters will most likely be processed or re-homed, but if that little black one ends up male, it will stay. My daughter already named it, so it is permanent.

If you breed frizzle to frizzle you do actually get a frazzle!! [​IMG] The problem is their feathers are very brittle and don't grow well, they're usually sickly, and they die very easily. So it's better not to hatch them.

5. chickenlittle32

chickenlittle32 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2009
    Rayne Louisiana
    They will end up frazzled. Which will make the feathers very brittle..and even thin..

6. Chooksaurus

Aug 8, 2009
    NW WI