4 Week Chicks laying eggs???!?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by sagehound, May 19, 2019.

1. sagehound

sagehound Chirping

Sep 21, 2017
    Powell Butte, Oregon
    I have 3 1/2-4 week old chicks that were brooded in the run with the mom. I have now opened the door and they are going in and out of the brooder into the run with the other chickens and mom with no problems (so far). :) Mom has started laying eggs again. I found one in the brooder when I went to put in fresh water. I also found a small egg that had broken. I have attached a picture for comparison. The small broken egg and the egg from the mom I found this morning.

I know I don't have any quail so I was assuming that one of the babies laid the egg? Which seems really strange. This is my first time brooding chicks with a mom and in the run. So I don't know if this is normal. Everybody is eating chick starter right now with supplements of calcium, grit and kelp nearby for the big chickens.

Is this normal? Do I need to worry?

Attached Files:

2. EggSighted4Life

EggSighted4Life Free Ranging

It's most likely a hiccup from the mom.

I wouldn't worry, but I would be on the look out for anything else strange. :)

imnukensc and sagehound like this.
  3. chickens really

chickens really Crazy Call Duck Momma

Definitely not the Chicks laying eggs. That's a fairy egg and from a mature Hen. Those happen..

4. sagehound

sagehound Chirping

Sep 21, 2017
    Powell Butte, Oregon
    OHHH....ok. This is my second year with chickens so I have never had that happen before. Whew! I thought I had some weird bird. LOL Thank you!

chickens really likes this.
  5. sagehound

sagehound Chirping

Sep 21, 2017
    Powell Butte, Oregon
    Whew! Thank you!! :)

chickens really likes this.
  6. aart

aart Chicken Juggler!

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop