4 week old chicks...Inside or out?

Janos&Jen

In the Brooder
10 Years
Jan 3, 2010
Spring Hill, FL
Ok y'all...Again I am new at all of this but I kind of put the cart in front of the horse and got my chicks before doing any real research. I live in West central FL and it has been freakishly cold the past week with highs in the 40's and nightime lows in the 20's (weird) so the qusestion is I have my babies in a xl dog crate with a 100 watt red flood light. I cant take the smell in the house anymore these sweeties are pooping machines! I dont have a garage or shed to put them in but I do have a lean to that They could go under. I was thinking of putting a blanket around the crate and clamping the light just above it. There are 3 walls on the lean to but it is open in the front. Is this enough? I would really appreciate your input. I have a lot to learn but I will be a good Momma!

As long as they have a heated draft free place to warm up in, and a draft free area to sleep in they'll be fine. You know those big rubber made tubs? A small access hole in one side and a heat light above it, often provides enough heat for them, depending on how many you have. Watch them carefully as temps drop. Near one another in the heated zone is good, with periods of activity out where it's cooler, piling up and inactive is bad, if they pile up and are inactive there's too little warmth. You watch for awhile and be prepared to adjust. Their activity level will let you know if they're comfortable.