40 week old orpington not laying, seems sick please help!??

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by zep0000, Aug 11, 2010.

1. zep0000

zep0000 New Egg

Aug 11, 2010
    Hi there im new to this forum but u guys all seem very experienced, im also quite new to chicken raising and have no where else to go with this problem! basically ive recently purchased 2 blue orps both 40 weeks old, one hen, one roo. The hen isnt laying and they both seem to have rather runny poop. Murtle has also recently aquired a strange cough sort of thing but doesnt do it more than 3 or 4 times a day and doesnt have a runny nose or eyes. she also appears to be molting quite a lot. George the roo doesnt do the coughing thing and hes not molting either. Ive had them both for about 2 weeks now, they both appear quite well, eating and such. Last week i bought a 9 month old black orp hen and put her with george and murtle, shes laying, not molting or coughing and is having a great time running around on our field (apart from being pounced on by george!) also george shows no signs of initiating anything with murtle which i dont know whether i should worry about that or not. The guy i bought the blue orps from said they were 40 weeks and kept them both together, he also said that she was on off laying, but if shes prime age and happy then why would it be on off? Is she molting for a reason like shes sick or something? i dont want to lose my lovely chickens!! i love them to bits!! i have no idea what to do, please help! [​IMG]

2. ChooksChick

ChooksChick BeakHouse's Mad Chicken Scientist

Aug 17, 2008
    Larry, KS
    My Coop
    The black hen may have been carrying something that your other hen got, though your roo hasn't yet. It's hard to say. I would say it's perfectly reasonable and expected for your blue hen to stop laying while in a molt, and often they'll stop after a move for some time.

3. zep0000

zep0000 New Egg

Aug 11, 2010