5/11 of my chicks are Roosters! and Houston do I have a problem!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by BriteChicken, Jun 21, 2010.

1. BriteChicken

BriteChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2010
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Hey guys and gals I appreciate any advice you can give me... as the title says I have too many roosters and I was planning on you know eating the roosters when they got to a nice weight but when I got home from work today one the rooster's was attacking another one and crowing at 6-7 weeks old! I think I'm going to have to sell my roosters bc I can't have them fighting or crowing for another 2-3 months I live in the city anyone need a rooster?

I feel really bad but I'm a newbie so I didn't know when to separate them thanks for any advice or interest!

2. Coreyboy18

Coreyboy18 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 17, 2010
    New Orleans, LA
    I too live in the city and think one of the Dominique pullets I bought is a rooster as well. I hope not, but I'm thinking that just by the size of his comb, and size and color of him compared to the others. He's only a little over two weeks. I know this is way too early to tell so I'm going to stay somewhat optimistic for the next two weeks or so. I definitely cant keep a rooster, and would rather have three hens for my flock rather than two. Another thing, I'm debating on is getting another chick just in case it turns out to be a roo, so I'll still have three birds. Good luck!

3. cobrien

cobrien Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2009
    Oakland, CA
    well I think if I wanted to eat a roo in 2-3 months in the city I might separate them into dog crates at night in a garage or basement, maybe give them some 1 on one time with the hens a few at a time (?). Or otherwise find some way to reduce noise from crowing, esp. from ~9am-5pm and give them a decent quality of life. Or advertise at feed store, craigslist or other for free roosters.