5 chicks need identifying

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by KDailey, Jun 29, 2011.

1. KDailey

KDailey Crazy Cochin Lady

Jun 27, 2011
    Bronson, Tx
    I've got 5 3-day old chicks that need identifying. I started with 6 but my little silkie passed over the rainbow bridge.
    I'd like to know their breed and if possible gender but I know that's pretty hard at this age. I'm pretty sure they're all roo's except for the last one. Her comb isn't nearly as pronounced as the others, and all the others have a little bump on their legs where I'm thinkin their spurs will come in while the last one does not. But I could be wrong. I'm new to this.

Chick #1: Have been told it's a cuckoo marans but I've seen pictures of other breeds that look extremely similar. Suspected roo
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Chick #2: Cuckoo Marans (?) suspected roo
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Chick #3: Cuckoo Marans (?) suspected roo
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Chick #4: Unknown, suspected roo
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Chick #5: Unknown, suspected hen
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. akcountrygrrl

akcountrygrrl Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2010
    Nenana, AK
    What a bunch of cuties!!! It's a little early to be using the comb to try to determine sex. And pretty much all chickens have spur bumps. Some hens can even get spurs. I had a speckled Sussex hen that had 2 1/2 inch wicked sharp spurs. Where did your chicks come from?

3. KDailey

Jun 27, 2011
    Bronson, Tx
    I just ordered 20 chicks from Ideal. Yay! I got 5 more than originally planned just because I couldn't decide completely. Hopefully I can integrate these guys fairly easy with them being so young [​IMG]

I know it's pretty early to determine sex but there just seems to be such a huge difference between the combs of the first 4 and the comb of the last chick. Like a big difference. I can barely find the comb on the last one but the others' are very easy to see.

4. TinyTotsSeramas