5 Day old chick sounds and strange behavior

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by royalrock, Mar 10, 2012.

1. royalrock

royalrock New Egg

Mar 10, 2012
    I am new to chicks and have googled chick sounds and haven't found anything helpful so I decided to join the forum after my google searches leading me back time and time again! So far it's been a huge help!!

I've got 5 chicks who are about 5 days old. After some mild pasty butt issues they all seem to be doing quite well. They are active and alert and all are eating and drinking well. I changed the shavings in the box today and am seeing nice solid poos finally so hopefully the sticky butt situation will clear up soon!

My first sound I am curious about reminds me of a purring? I was petting one chick and it made almost like a kissing or tsk tsk sound? It reminded me of the happy sound my bunny makes so I am hoping it is also a happy sound? The chick wasn't trying o escape at the time but also wasn't exactly snuggling down for a nice nap in my lap either......

My second sound is coming from a different chick who has been making a sound all day today that is more like a normal bird chirp or a fast tremolo peep instead of a single staccato peep.....almost like a squeaky gym sneaker? or a really high pitched dove. so hard to explain.

The rest are napping - they all ate and drank earlier and this one gets up occasionally and stands up extra tall and makes the noise a few times before settling back down. I saw "her" make the noise while still laying down but she still stretched her head up tall to look around while "cooing". Just now I watched her get up a go over to another chick and sort of stand over her (the other chick was napping) and make the sound then go back to sleep.

I know it's too soon for rooster behavior (or so I'm told) but I'm nervous something could be wrong?