5 day old chick won’t eat, very sick

Jul 24, 2019
Boerne TX
Hey ya’ll!
I picked up 4 little chicks from the feed store the other day. One was very sick, and the guy there said if I wanted to try to help her I could just take her. This shipment went thru unexpected cold weather, so a lot of them had died. This one had really bad pasty butt, and it looked like she hadn’t pooped in a few days. After I got that sorted, she pooped EVERYWHERE. That was yesterday. I couldn’t find save a chick, but I got some probiotics for their water that is basically the same thing. I’ve also been giving her electrolytes. She’s pooping today, but hasn’t grown at all so now she’s the smallest. She’s still very weak and won’t eat, and won’t drink unless I bring her to the waterer. Anything else I can do for her? She’s very vocal and is always making noise, but she just lays there in her belly and crawls around only every once in a while. I’m most concerned about her not eating.

I am no expert and other's will likely have better ideas. I'd say make sure she's warm enough and hand feed/water her and maybe she'll pull through. I had a cross beak chick that I hand fed when she was a chick and beyond as she basically had to stick her whole head in the feed and she always needed crumbles. She was my lap chicken and best buddy because of the hand feeding.

I hope yours pulls through.

Is there anything wrong with your chick's legs?

I am no expert and other's will likely have better ideas. I'd say make sure she's warm enough and hand feed/water her and maybe she'll pull through. I had a cross beak chick that I hand fed when she was a chick and beyond as she basically had to stick her whole head in the feed and she always needed crumbles. She was my lap chicken and best buddy because of the hand feeding.

I hope yours pulls through.

Is there anything wrong with your chick's legs?