5 days old, pictures - what colours will they be?

lauradrake21

In the Brooder
May 25, 2015
Hi All

We are Quail noobs and have 7 little babies here, now 5 days old (hatched on Day 17, on 20th May). 7 out of 11 eggs hatched so quite a good rate considering they were in a home made incubator without humidity regulation and some variation in temp (36 to 39.2 deg C). Though some needed assistance getting out of the egg. One egg had a baby inside but it looks to have died a bit before due date as it was still quite wet?? The other three weren't fertile.

I just wondered if any experts might be able to look at these pics and tell me what Coturnix varieties these might turn out to be? It looks like there is one quite blonde one, four darker stripeys (some with gingerish faces, some not) and two with faded stripes. Though I am a complete beginner so no idea what they might turn into!

Other than that they are under an infrared heat lamp in low light as some tow pecking started under a brighter red-tinted white bulb, but the lower light seems to have curtailed this behaviour (the flash in these images makes it look much brighter and whiter than it is). They all seem to be feeding and drinking well and happy with the straw base.

Any other advice for us first-timers to ensure health, welfare and survivability? I have been fretting so much about them as they are so small! (The black wires here link to thermometers which measure the temp under the red lamp and on the other side of the cage - under the lamp is 33-35 deg C, and on the other side it is 25-26 deg C).

Many thanks for any help!

Laura and Steven
Southampton, UK

Last edited:
Laura, I see some browns. In both red and wild variety. Two variations of golden, and possibly a fawn colored golden. Compare your chicks to the chicks on the first page of the Coturnix page. As they feather out it should be easier to tell.