5 questions.

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by questions543, Apr 15, 2012.

1. questions543

questions543 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2012
    I have five questions... Whats the difference between medicated and non-medicated chick feed. whats the difference between chick grower and chick starter, wheres the best/cheapest place to buy oyster shells... Is there another way to water your flock other than using the pvc pipes( probaly the stupidest question) )And last of all Is it okay to use playsand as grit ?
    Thanks alot... As you can probaly tell im new to this... ALL help would be appreciated.

2. seminolewind

seminolewind Flock Mistress Premium Member

Sep 6, 2007
    spring hill, florida
    Okay, you're new! medicated chick feed has amproliam in it that helps prevent coccidiosis. I've never used it, a few times I had a sick young bird, but would treat with Corrid or Sulfadimethoxine. Either way. Sarter/grower, I guess some brands sell them separate, I don't know, I've used chick starter/grower all in one until they get Layer feed. Playsand is not big enough. You can buy grit as well as oyster shell at a feed store that sells chicken feed. I just water my chickens with those galvanized things for poultry. They are easy to fill, so I like them. No question is stupid!!!!!! Good luck

3. questions543

questions543 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2012
    Thanks a lot! What to do you mean by galvanized waterer?

4. Chris09

Chris09 Circle (M) Ranch

Jun 1, 2009
    Ohio
    Other than the Medication there is no difference between Medicated and Non-Medicated feed. Medicated chick starter can have either Lasalocid or Amprolium.
    The difference between Starter and Grower is that for the most part a Grower will have less protein in it to allow time for the growing stock to fill out properly.
    The best place to get Oyster Shell is a good feed mill, try to stay away from feed stores like TSC they tend to charge more than mills do.