5 week old lethargic buff Orpington

Krista0967

In the Brooder
Jun 6, 2020
My sweet 5 week old buff Orpington has been off the past couple days. Not social with the rest of her flock as usual. Will just stand for long periods of time breathing heavily and droopy eyed. Is very poofy, I thought that was just her breed but maybe she’s holding her wings out a bit? I thought maybe it was heat stroke from the heat lamp I have on at night but I haven’t seen her drink water. She will eat. Is very light though. Didnt notice it at first because she’s so poofy but definitely lighter than the other Orpington I have. She also makes a clicking sound I am 99% sure she is making herself with her beak as I only hear it when she moves her beak. And that’s the only time she opens her beak. Maybe it’s from her breathing? So hard to tell. Her peep is raspy. she is also a little shaky. I read maybe to make her an Electrolyte drink but I’m not sure how much and how often. I’m new to raising chicks. Please help this little one.

Last edited:
5 week old
Will just stand for long periods of time breathing heavily and droopy eyed. Is very poofy, I thought that was just her breed but maybe she’s holding her wings out a bit?
I thought maybe it was heat stroke from the heat lamp I have on at night but I haven’t seen her drink water.
Didnt notice it at first because she’s so poofy
makes a clicking sound I am 99% sure she is making herself with her beak
The symptoms I’m relating to that are being fluffed out and poofy, standing still while breathing heavily, not eating or drinking much I’m worried she’ll soon stop. Lethargic.
It’s not overly warm for her...I put her and her small flock the same age in their hen house at 4 weeks and put the heat lamp on at night. Considered the heat lamp is maybe too warm it hits about 80 degrees f directly under the lamp. It’s about 70 in my bedroom. But again she isn’t drinking water
forgot to say yes her droppings are fine.