5 wk old EE and SS -- can you sex us based on feather patterns? (pic heavy)

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by SmittenChicken, Oct 13, 2012.

1. EE=pullet; SS=cockerel

1 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. SS=pullet; EE=cockerel

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Both pullets

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Both cockerels

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. SmittenChicken

SmittenChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2010
    Hi all, I have two chicks that my Black Star hen hatched out on 9/8 (5 weeks old today). I know it's still very early, but I'd love to get some feedback from all of you experts. I have my suspicions based on what I've read, but I'm still a relative newbie and the feathering pattern on the EE has me a bit puzzled. Behavior-wise, they're both quite tame and curious around me (though I think this has a lot to do with their mother, who is super friendly and leads them right over to me whenever I walk outside.)

Please weigh in with your expertise (or just your best guess), and I promise to keep updating with pictures until we know for sure!

[​IMG]
    Speckled Sussex (5 weeks) -- from what I've read the white chest is a bad sign, is there any hope for this little one?

[​IMG]
    Comb shot -- EE (5 weeks) Edit: there are 3 very small rows visible, the middle row is slightly more prominent.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Both chicks feathered out quickly and developed very straight, prominent tails right away.

[​IMG]
    Chest shot -- SS (left) feathered out pure white, and is now getting some brown flecks. EE's chest feathered out in a salmon/orange color, head appears to be feathering out the same.

[​IMG]
    The EE developed some orange feathers on the wing that are now appearing all over the body, they're more of a salmon color than a brick red so I'm hoping this is a pullet?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    The EE's body shape, tail, and posture remind me a lot of the other EE hens I've had, but I'm just not sure about those orange spots...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]