6.5 week buff laced polish - sex me!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by superchemicalgirl, Jun 1, 2010.

1. superchemicalgirl

superchemicalgirl HEN PECKED

Jan 10, 2010
    Vacationland, Maine
    This was my "free rare chick" from my McMurray order - so for starters the odds are stacked that it's a boy.

I have no other crested and this is my first time with chickens... so I turn to you, BYCers to help me out. The chick acts like a space cadet and hates to be touched, but I think that's normal for Polish and not indicative of sex.

Here's my photos:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Thanks for playing!

2. dappertophatter

dappertophatter Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2008
    The Jersey Shore
    Ya got a boy!!! Very handsome feller, too. [​IMG] Polish take a while to tame down- don't worry.

With that kind of crazy wild pointy hairdo, there's no doubt. Pullets tend to have fluffy tennis-ball crests at that age. He's got nice sickle (boy tail-feather) development, too.

Love your username [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 1, 2010
  3. Camelot Farms

Camelot Farms Chickenista

I agree.... Roo!

4. ThePolishPrincess

ThePolishPrincess Chillin' With My Peeps

It's good you prepared yourself-that's a boy.

5. superchemicalgirl

Jan 10, 2010
    Vacationland, Maine
    Darn! And thank you all for your help. I wanted a rooster, but I never planned on a polish one.

I know it's the wrong place to post this but: are polish roosters just as good at protecting their girls as regular roosters? I'm thinking the head puff prevents them from seeing predators? And will *all* chicks hatch with a puff?!

6. ThePolishPrincess

ThePolishPrincess Chillin' With My Peeps