6 or 8 chicks to start?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by sooju, May 12, 2010.

1. sooju

sooju In the Brooder

May 10, 2010
    Pleasantville, NY
    I fell in love with thegardencoop.com design and before doing my research I placed an order for the maximum number of chicks that it recommended (8). What is the likelihood that all 8 of my chicks will survive to adulthood? I'm not sure whether to try and modify the coop design to accommodate all 8 chickens or reduce my order size to 6. But I'd hate to order 6 chickens only to find that one of them is a rooster (they're sexed but that's only 90% reliable) or to have a chick not survive shipping etc. I have no experience with this and would really appreciate some advice! They'll only be able to free range on the weekends when I'm around all day.

2. Chickens are addictive. If you get six, you'll want 8!

That being said, it's not unusual to loose a chick. A lot depends on where you get them. Chicks that have been shipped or purchased at a feed store are usually less healthy than chicks you buy directly from the breeder. If you want to minimize losses, find a local breeder to buy from.

I'd go for 8.

3. Also - you might want to consider free ranging in the evenings. Even if you get home at 6, and it gets dark at 7, they'll appreciate an hour out on the grass!

4. Buff Hooligans

Buff Hooligans Scrambled

Jun 11, 2007
    Quote:I agree with Turkey on this. It's not unusual to have a young bird die for no discernable reason. I had five, lost one, and now four seems too few.

5. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

8, of course.

I originally considered 4, then 6, then 8, maximum.

When a chick failed to thrive and died, I "replaced" it with two more. Then my elderly dog killed one, so I added two more.... ended up with 8 pullets and 1 accidental rooster.