1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

6 RIR 2 BOs

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by NewChickener784, Mar 22, 2016.

1. NewChickener784

NewChickener784 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 21, 2016
    Anybody have a guess on what sex these might be? Bought them at the farm store. I'm new to this, so all help is appreciated. Also, living in southern Iowa, do you think they are ready to go out to outdoor coop? They are a little over 2 weeks.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    When guessing the sex on these, lets start with #1 as being top left, top center #2, top right being #3, Middle two #4&5, Bottom left #6, 7, 8.

The top picture is obviously more recent, and thus the reason I am asking if they're ready to be moved out.

2. Jetblack2004

Jetblack2004 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 22, 2016
    East Sussex
    Pic 1:

At the back the one you can see the eye is pullet the one next to it is cockerel. White one is pullet. Next brown one
    down is pullet. Can't see next ones comb but by size cockerel. The white one at bottom of pic is pullet and the last brown one I can't see comb but by size guessing cockerel.

Pic 2:

Can't see any combs.

I would wait until they look big and strong enough and then put them in a outdoor coop. At 2 weeks they are probably still on heat so if your putting them out make sure they keep warm.

Good luck ;)

3. NewChickener784

Mar 21, 2016
    Right, I planned to take the heat light outside and allow them to have it another week or two. I will try to get a better picture tonight and post again for your or anybody to give me their thoughts on the sex of them. I was told at the store that they were all pullets.