6 week old not growing ***Pictures!!*** :(

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by bragabit, May 5, 2009.

1. bragabit

bragabit Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 26, 2009
    Southern Utah
    I have 13 chicks, and 3 Buff Orp's. Two of them are the same sized but the third is so much smaller. They started out all the same size but now she is just 1/2 if not 1/3 the size of the other two. She seems to be coming to her feathers more slowly too. I have been watching her and she eats, sleeps, drinks and plays. I inspected her and she looks fine. What do you think? Dwarf, or a medical problem?

[​IMG]

2. scullybird

scullybird Out Of The Brooder

May 5, 2009
    Corvallis, OR
    I'm new to chickens... but is there a banty variety of this breed? Could one have inadvertantly gotten mixed in with the chicks?

3. The Poultry Peanut

The Poultry Peanut lives under rock

Quote:I don't think so and the OP said they all started the same size maby it's a runt [​IMG]

4. Junkybird

Junkybird Out Of The Brooder

May 3, 2009
    Dacusville, SC
    I, too, am having this issue with an Americana chick. The other three are MUCH bigger. I have already moved them out to the coop and kept the smaller one inside. It had attached itself to a RIR buddy, so I left them together. They are so cute together.

I have posted another post about a medical issue with this chick though. It has a mass/bump near it's anus inside the body. I didn't think that it was going to make it--but he's still kickin! I just couldn't bring myself to put him outside with the other 20 chicks. They are all SO much bigger than him. I just know that he would be smothered or pecked.

My runt is eating, drinking, scratching around, pooping etc. All normal. Sounds like yours is too . . .

5. firedove

firedove Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 10, 2008
    Fitzwilliam NH