6 weeks old bloody droppings!?!? D:

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ChickChickChicky!, Jun 23, 2011.

1. ChickChickChicky!

ChickChickChicky! Out Of The Brooder

Apr 11, 2011
    One of my chicks has just pooped a blood. Yesterday I have noticed, so I watched them and after a while there poop were pretty normal. But this morning I saw my Peanut (thats her name) poop blood! What should I do and what is going on!? I'm really worried! I don't want to see one of my chicks to die! ITS JUST SO HEART BREAKING! They don't looks sick! They look so healthy! They fly, eat, drink water, and they even sometimes pick a little play fight with each other!

I told my parents and they said its not blood. My parents have raised chickens before and they said if I'm worried to feed them onions. Now I'm not sure if that is helpful or not because I'm new to all this, but my parents did have experience before. And to tell you the truth they kinda looked uneasy about the blood. So, What should I do and what is going on!?

THANKS GUYS!!

2. newbiechickenfan

newbiechickenfan Out Of The Brooder

Apr 24, 2011
    I just logged on and saw your post. I'm very new to raising chicks but in all my reading on this site I have found that there is a very serious condition called coccidiosis (not sure if I spelled it right). Anyway, I'm sure someone else will see your post and offer you more expert advice. In the meantime, check through this site or google the condition in chickens. I hope your little chick doesn't have it, but if it does, it needs treatment asap. Good luck!

3. urban hen momma

urban hen momma Out Of The Brooder

Jun 17, 2011
    Tacoma, WA
    Have you checked a "chicken poo chart"? try an internet search and one should come up

Last edited: Jun 23, 2011
  4. Rainbow Dash

Rainbow Dash Out Of The Brooder

Jun 15, 2011
    Antarctica
  5. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Some threads about cocci and its treatments: