7 week old black copper marans

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by carriebain, Nov 21, 2013.

1. carriebain

carriebain Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 19, 2013
    Lakewood California
    It is really hard to get pictures because she is so dark! Another gender guess! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] I guess pullet but need the help of my chicken loving friends! Thank you!!!

2. Lady of McCamley

Lady of McCamley Overrun With Chickens

Mar 19, 2011
    NW Oregon
    I'm not an expert on the breed, but with that comb I'd say pullet...I would think a roo would be showing much more comb and redness by 7 weeks.

Lady of McCamley

3. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    I'm undecided. The comb does say female, but it's not very feathered out, and those are some sturdy legs. I'm probably 75% sure it's female lol. You'll know if it starts getting copper in the wing/shoulder area, that's boy trait.

4. carriebain

Sep 19, 2013
    Lakewood California
    I agree, barely any feathers, very leggy, he reminds me of a baby ostrich! But comb is small and yellow with no waddled.

5. Lady of McCamley

Lady of McCamley Overrun With Chickens

Mar 19, 2011
    NW Oregon
    I had a mutt that I was convinced was going to be a roo...the size of the legs were enormous, snotty attitude, chest butting all the other chicks...but the comb was small and yellow...I kept thinking...give it time, that will change...those saddle feathers will show...the chick had some pointier hackles...it was only a matter of time right? Pressed for a decision I decided to give him away to my daughter who took him away to a farm. "HE" began to lay eggs at 13 weeks...wow...talk about an Amazon. I'm not so quick to jump to roo anymore if the comb is small and yellow in spite of Amazon signs.

Sometimes you just have to wait until they crow or lay. :p

Good luck with your little Marans...haven't tried that breed yet but it's in my someday wish list.