8 month old chickens not laying

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by patrickfoy1, Nov 16, 2016.

1. patrickfoy1

patrickfoy1 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 3, 2016
    Hi Y'all......

I'm hoping someone can answer this question.... I have 5 Rhoad Island Reds.... they were all from the same lot.
    They are 8 months old....three of them are laying, two are not.... is this normal?
    Sorry for the stupid question for all you experts out there....but I'm just learning...

Thank you for your time..... and suggestions...

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Not stupid and not completely out of the ordinary because they approached laying age after the summer solstice.
    As days get shorter, the hormones promoting production are suppressed. As days get longer, production is stimulated.
    I bet if you add a light to the coop in the morning increasing day length by a couple hours or so, they'll all be laying in short order.

3. EggSighted4Life

EggSighted4Life Overrun With Chickens

Hi, welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

It is not a stupid question. We all have to learn somehow! [​IMG]

It is normal. They are individuals. And as stated could be and likely is the time of year.

If you don't need the extra production, I would skip the light. I like to let nature take it's course. But if you need to, do as @ChickenCanoe suggested. The only thing is you need to do it in half hour increments and add the light to morning hours not night, So it doesn't switch of suddenly and leave them stuck off their roost. It's my understanding that just adding a couple hours of light all the sudden may not have the intended effect.

I know it can be frustrating. Good luck!

4. patrickfoy1

Jun 3, 2016