8 month old silkie gender? With pics

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by flockman, Jan 4, 2011.

1. flockman

flockman Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 6, 2010
    Northern Indiana
    These 2 were hatched in May. The nonbearded one just started to get wattles in the last week. She/it has also gotten much fuller and fluffier. The bearded I think might be a cockerel but it does not crow. They live with standard size chickens of which 2 are EE roos. I think that the one without a beard is a pullet. Is the bearded one blue or black? I think it is blue just really dark. Any opinions or ideas are welcomed. Thanks! I am new to silkies.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 4, 2011
  2. flockman

Nov 6, 2010
    Northern Indiana
    Sorry for the poor pictures.[​IMG]
    They did not want to hold still. Plucky did not mind but Blue Beard sure did not like the camera.[​IMG]

3. Bat Cave Silkies

Bat Cave Silkies Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 11, 2010
    Bat Cave, NC
    looks like a blue pullet and a black cockerel.....If it is a cockerel, and he's younger and smaller than the other roo's he lives with~~he may not crow

4. Willowsong69

Willowsong69 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 8, 2010
    New Hampshire
    First one is a hen. The second is hard to tell. I wanted to say roo, but can't commit. Is he/she not crowing at all?

5. bantyshanty

bantyshanty Oval Office Courier

Oct 6, 2009
    S.W Pennsylvania
    First one definitely a pullet. Second one looks to have streamers, from the second-to-last photo, which would make him a roo. Or just a wet crest, which would make him/her a silly, wet silkie ;-)

Second one, can't be sure on color from photo. The test of true black: put your silkie in the sunlight. If there's an iridescent green sheen to the saddle, wing & tail feathers, (s)he's black.

Last edited: Jan 4, 2011
  6. flockman

Nov 6, 2010
    Northern Indiana