8 week old babies! i need your advice please!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by adbayer, Aug 30, 2010.

1. adbayer

adbayer Out Of The Brooder

Jun 6, 2010
    my chickies are 8 weeks old, and i have started giving them time outside, in a pen, all to themselves. just a few hours a day for now, and then we will work our way to living there! [​IMG] my problem- im pretty sure one is a roo- he is the only one with wattles and a comb... is pretty aggressive and he has two extra toes, and has since he hatched, now im a noob, and maybe im just dumb, but that says roo to me [​IMG] he has started beating up the other chickies, half flying half jumping at them and pecking as he lands on them and squawking away.... is this normal?
    if not, what do i do?
    if so, what do i do? i feel bad for the others, they arent even around him just minding their own business and here he comes to beat them up [​IMG]

any advice would be greatly appreciated!

also- how hot is too hot for these babes? i want to move them outside, but i dont want them to overheat being so young- its still high 90's- 100's here(texas)

2. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

I really can't give advice on the excess heat- here in the pac. nw., any heat wave like that would be short-lived.

If all these chickens were raised together from chickhood, and no blood is being drawn, then I would say it is normal behavior. They are establishing the pecking order. Oh, and I have had some roosters try to start mating at that age- could it be that?

However, if you are joining two flocks, you must be careful.

Last edited: Aug 30, 2010
  3. LizGled628

LizGled628 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2010
    Rhode Island
    Hmm, I've never had roo's but that sounds more than just "creating the pecking order" to me. Maybe isolate him for a little while? Hopefully someone else will chime in.