9 month old hen acting lethargic, dull shrunk comb, separating herself

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by OregonChickie, Dec 4, 2011.

1. OregonChickie

OregonChickie Out Of The Brooder

Apr 20, 2011
    Hi everybody. I'm a chicken newbie and would love some help. This is my first winter with hens, we have 3, they all were born last Spring. One of our golden sexlinks is acting sick. I noticed yesterday that she wasn't really going after the scratch like the other girls, sort of haphazardly pecking at it and getting it in her beak some times, while the other two were acting normal, basically attacking the scratch. I thought maybe they were picking on her, she is the lowest in the pecking order, but they didn't pay any attention. I also noticed her comb is dull pink instead of red and appears shrunken. There are also some black areas on her comb, which I assumed were dirt but maybe not?

This morning when I let them all out, she remained in the roost. I opened up the back about an hour later and found her still on the perch. With my prodding, she jumped down and went down the ramp out to the run but continued to stay sort of hunched down and away from the other girls. She did not eat or drink. It has been cold here, about 30 at night. We do not have a heater or light in the roost and all 3 of the girls seem to be laying quite nicely. We typically get 3 eggs a day, sometimes 1 of the girls misses a day but it's hard to tell who it is. No softshell eggs.

Her feathers appear fine however, 2 days ago, there were quite a few feathers around the run. I didn't know what happened, I've never seen a chicken molt so not sure if there would just be clumps of feathers laying around. I'm going to go check on her and see if she has mites. Any suggestions would be great, I'm worried about her and want to do the right thing. I don't believe she is egg bound but I can't be sure. We did have 3 eggs yesterday so it seems unlikely.

2. OregonChickie