9 pips, no zips. It's been 6 hours.

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by kathyinmo, Aug 7, 2009.

1. kathyinmo

kathyinmo Nothing In Moderation

Today is day 20. Yesterday I heard chirping. [​IMG] Shortly thereafter I had 1 pip. Then, I went to work [​IMG] .... When I got home I had a chick running around. [​IMG] Now with 9 pips for the past few HOURS, I wonder if there is a problem. [​IMG] Is it normal to have pips for that long, with no zips? [​IMG] What the heck ... did they go to sleep as soon as they pipped? [​IMG] I am afraid the pip hole will dry out, and they can't get out.

Can you tell .... this is my first time incubating. Up all night, lots of coffee, all alone here .... [​IMG] Help me out, PLEASE ... [​IMG]

This one little chick is screaming her lungs out. I think she is hungry, or lonely, or whatever .... she is chirping up a storm, and playing soccer with all the other eggs. [​IMG]

Really though, today is day 20, not 21. I can't leave her in there for days. Should I take her out? Is she just early, and the others are "on time?" [​IMG]

Please advise ...... [​IMG]

2. dixiechick

dixiechick Songster

Some do rest after pipping...it's hard work. PATIENCE, dear one. I have had mine take 24 hours after the first pip.

Congrats on your little ones!!!

[​IMG]

3. ranchhand

ranchhand Rest in Peace 1956-2011

Aug 25, 2008
    SC
    She's just early, hang in there and do NOT open that 'bator!

Congratulations, sounds like you have a good hatch happening! [​IMG]

4. Smokin Silkies

Smokin Silkies formerly browneyebuttafly

Mar 27, 2009
    Western, PA