1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

A Broody Question

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Laurajean, Jan 30, 2011.

1. Laurajean

Laurajean Slightly Touched

Apr 2, 2010
    New Hampshire
    This is my first year with chickens, and this is their first winter (they were born last May). They've been laying now for a while and have shown no interest in their eggs. I just take them and they don't care. Today I went out to find a Silkie in one of the nesting boxes. Once she got up I discovered 5 eggs beneath her, 2 of them Bantam eggs and 3 of them from my RIR.

I don't know much about broodiness but have a couple of questions. I tried searching the forum but didn't see my specific questions answered.

1. Is it okay to just take the eggs? I don't want them hatched. I took them and she wandered around the coop looking for them and seemed mildly bothered but not very upset. Will she just go back to normal or will this harm her in some way by taking the eggs?

2. How did all those eggs get in that one nest box under her? They never lay eggs in the same place, always random. Did she actually MOVE all the eggs to that box, including the 3 large RIR eggs? Or do the other chickens now lay them there because she's hanging out on them?

Anything else I should know about broodiness? I've heard things about golf balls, etc. Should I put something like that out there instead or simply take her eggs? What is the purpose of putting fake eggs in?

Thanks for any input.

2. dandelionheart

dandelionheart Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 15, 2010
    Lafayette, Indiana