A complete newbie

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ssalcido1, Jan 28, 2016.

1. ssalcido1

ssalcido1 New Egg

Jan 28, 2016
    Hi all I live in New Mexico and excited to join the group. We are wanting to build our coop in the next few weeks and plan on getting chicks from our local tractor supply. I am excited about this new project and am only interested in egg production

2. Scooter&Suzie

Scooter&Suzie Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2011
    Pennsylvania
    Welcome to Back Yard Chickens! Do you know what breed(s) you plan to get?

3. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG] glad you have joined us.

I don't know if you get a real choice at TSC - but avoid straight runs - you will end up with 50% or more roos. You can get an idea from the local store what breeds they will offer, study up on those to try to select the gals.

4. ssalcido1

ssalcido1 New Egg

Jan 28, 2016
    Thank you for the warm welcome. I don't know yet I'm reading up on them to determine what I want. I do know I like RI reds and Americaunas I will also check the feed stores. My problem I can't order what most places online have as minimums. I only can have about 10 for now and minimums are 20 from what ice seen so far

5. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    Do you have smaller independent feed/seed stores that get baby chicks? If yes, talk with them, they can tell you what breeds they will get, and may get sexed ones which lessens the risk of roos. Personally got my gals at 3 days old and thank goodness all 6 were females - from a small community pet/animal supply store. And most of them don't have a minimum.

6. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana