1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

A couple questions from a first timer

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by FarminTheBurbs, Jan 31, 2012.

1. FarminTheBurbs

FarminTheBurbs New Egg

Jan 31, 2012
    SF Peninsula, CA
    Hi all! I'm new to BYC and I just ordered 6 chicks from MyPetChicken: 1 Black Australorp, 1 Silver Laced Wyandotte, 1 Blue Laced Red Wyandotte, 1 Buff Brahma and 2 Blue (hopefully!) Andalusians. They won't be shipping for a couple of months (due to some of the breeds availability) so I've got plenty of time to build a super-coop for my new buddies! I have a couple of questions to pose to you:
    1. What are your opinions on medicated feed for the babies? Pros and cons?
    2. I am planning on a nipple watering system for the coop/run. How early should I introduce the chicks to a nipple system?
    3. What are your thoughts on brooder light? Should I use a regular bulb or a red bulb? Does it make much difference?
    Thank you for your thoughts! I love BYC and have already found so much great advice here! [​IMG]

2. P'Fowls

P'Fowls Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2011
    Dahlonega, Ga
    1. I would recommend using medicated starter. It helps control coccidiosis when they are young. I have always used it and have had good luck raising chicks. There is also a double medicated out now by Purina.

2. I would personally start them on the nipples when they come out of the brooder around 4-5 weeks old. Thats just my opinion, you could probably do it sooner or later if you like.