A "Few" Peafowl Questions. . .

LilJoe

Crowing
5 Years
Jul 15, 2016
Missouri
Hello,

I am considering maybe getting a peacock or a pair, but Im still unsure about it. My questions are below. . .

1. I've read Peacocks can be very aggressive. Is this always the case or is it like roosters(treat them a certain way, dont do this, dont do that, some are aggressive, some aren't, etc.) ?
  2. Do Peacocks only scream during breeding season?
  3. How long is the breeding season?
  4. Are Peacocks still loud without peahens?
  5. Can peacocks live without peahens?
  6. Is it safe for them to roost in trees? (Raccoons, opossums, stray cats)
  7. Do peahens have a clutch every year (if not stopped)?
  8. Are peahens loud aswell?
  9. Do they get along with chickens and dogs?
Sorry for so many questions, I'm new to peafowl (considering I've never owned any). Any other information you can share would be appreciated, too! :)

-LilJoe

Hello,

I am considering maybe getting a peacock or a pair, but Im still unsure about it. My questions are below. . .

1. I've read Peacocks can be very aggressive. Is this always the case or is it like roosters(treat them a certain way, dont do this, dont do that, some are aggressive, some aren't, etc.) ?
  2. Do Peacocks only scream during breeding season?
  3. How long is the breeding season?
  4. Are Peacocks still loud without peahens?
  5. Can peacocks live without peahens?
  6. Is it safe for them to roost in trees? (Raccoons, opossums, stray cats)
  7. Do peahens have a clutch every year (if not stopped)?
  8. Are peahens loud aswell?
  9. Do they get along with chickens and dogs?
Sorry for so many questions, I'm new to peafowl (considering I've never owned any). Any other information you can share would be appreciated, too! :)

-LilJoe
A friend of mine whose house I used to visit a lot raised peafowl. I'll answer the questions from what I found:
  1. I would say they are weary of people
  2. Nope, they scream all the time
  3. No clue