A few questions from a newbie!

Discussion in 'Quail' started by rebelINny, Jan 16, 2011.

1. rebelINny

rebelINny Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2011
    eastern, Ny
    Hello everyone! I am a newbie from NY but am looking into raising a few quail for the eggs and meat. My question is what exactly can they eat in place of buying game bird feed? We try to be a self-sufficient as possible and we don't like to buy feed from feedstores if we can grow the stuff ourselves. Any advice is helpful. I have been reading up about them a little bit and it seems they need very high protein feed. Any suggestions as to what might work that we can grow ourselves. If not then we would just go with the store bought stuff. Thanks.

2. mhwc56

mhwc56 Chillin' With My Peeps

there are others who have asked the same question pretty much, go through the posts /do a search on nutritional needs ,diet for and so on there's some good stuff on here .
    and WELCOME ! [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  3. Farmerman

Farmerman Out Of The Brooder

Dec 31, 2010