a few rooster questions? sorry im a newbie...

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by HyperTree, Aug 10, 2010.

1. HyperTree

HyperTree Out Of The Brooder

Aug 7, 2010
    ok, i havent actually gotten any chicks yet (im planning for feb, when the coop is done) but my plan is in feb im going to order 4 chicks (all girls, the current plan is 1 BA 1 RIR 1 EE and 1 BR) if all goes well, i plan on (probably sometime in the early to middle fall) i want to get a silver laced wyandotte roo and *maybe* 1 or 2 more hens and i have a few questions [​IMG] :

1. is adding a roo to an already established flock gonna be a big no-no?

2. i chose silver laced wyandotte because i've read that they are very docile, quiet (as far as roo's go...), and the winters where i live can get very cold and bitter, so frostbite is a potential issue, and meyer hatchery.com said they have a smaller comb, reducing frostbite. (and also because they look stunning [​IMG] , but mainly the others) is this true? because i would absolutley hate to get a roo, get attached to the roo, and then have the roo turn out to be a total butt. i understand that chickens are individual, but what are your exspriances, oh wise exsperts? [​IMG]

3. will 4 (or maybe 5-6, depending on me resisting the very tempting pictures of chicks online.... [​IMG] ) be enough hens for him? i've heard that if they dont have enough girls they become very mean, and my chickens (as all my pets) are going to be around young children.