A gigantic blood ring AND a live chick candled?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bearz, Jul 7, 2008.

1. bearz

bearz Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2008
    So, what do I do about this. I candled last night and one has this gigantic, obvious blood ring but also a chick moving around. Its day 6 or 7, I forget, and I'm inclined to leave it in there. Anybody ever have success with this?

2. seriousbill

seriousbill Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2008
    Ohio
    If there's a ring with a live embryo, it's probably a bacterial ring. If it is, then the bacteria will likely kill the developing embryo. That has been my experience, but I REALLY hope that's not the case here.

3. penelope77

penelope77 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2008
    northeast oklahoma
    alot of mine looked like that around the time you did yours. then mine changed and the big circle went away to the spider veiny look. i'm new to this though so wait for an expert.

4. Three Cedars Silkies

Three Cedars Silkies Overrun With Chickens

Apr 17, 2008
    Gainesville, Fl.
    DON'T throw that egg out. I think what some of us inexperienced candlers call a "blood ring" is just the network of veins that are being formed. I'm wondering if that could be why some peoples hatch rates are so low. It may NOT be a bacterial ring. I had a bacterial ring on a day 4 egg this morning and it was black. No doubt it was a bad egg.

When in doubt hang onto it for a minimum of 14 days and candle again.

5. Mrs MIA

Mrs MIA Chick Magnet

Mar 3, 2008
    Unless the egg is oozing or stinky, definitely leave it in there until at least day 14. If, at day 14, you're not seeing movement or an egg that is filling in and dark, THEN toss the egg before putting in the hatcher. Learned that lesson the hard way... [​IMG]

Good luck! [​IMG]

*edited because I can't spell this early in the morning... [​IMG]*

Last edited: Jul 7, 2008
  6. hinkjc

hinkjc Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Jan 11, 2007
    PA