1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

A Heartbroken Thank You.

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Brooksy86, Nov 26, 2016.

1. Brooksy86

Brooksy86 Just Hatched

Nov 26, 2016
    I moved into my current shared house about a month and a half ago, when they told me they had three chickens I actually made a joke about leaving a trail of crumbs to a waiting oven (I am a chef after-all) and was pretty nonchalant about their existence. But then I struggled to find work as often as I would like, my days became more and more housebound and slowly but surely these feathery buggers became my constant companions. Whether it was slowly getting them used to me being around them, getting them to eat out of my hand, watching them dust themselves off in the dirt on a warm day or just simply learning what each of their vocalizations meant, I became utterly smitten with them. I was even told that the eldest one had stopped laying eggs, so, using information I got from this site, I gave her some TLC and before I knew it, she was laying down eggs again much to everyone's surprise. And that's what the 'Thank You' means from the title, this forum gave me all the answers I ever needed, I freaked out when I first saw them having a mud-bath and this site put my mind at ease, they free-range quite happily and without this site I never would have located where they were laying their bloody eggs, from feed, to bedding to the correct way of picking them up, this site and all its wonderful contributors have just been excellent. My life right now is very lonely, I am 10,000 miles from home, I am unemployed and these three little ladies have been the most joy a man could ask for during these bleak few weeks.