A male that doesn't crow at 5AM

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by jmeeter88, Aug 18, 2008.

1. jmeeter88

jmeeter88 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 18, 2008
    New Hartford, NY
    OK, please don't laugh at this because I am completely new to chickens.

As I understand it, chickens are not asexual, therefore needing both a male *and* female to reproduce. Also, please correct me if I am wrong, but the males (roosters) are notorious for crowing at sunrise. Is there such a thing as a rooster that doesn't do that?

Last edited: Aug 18, 2008
  2. ChooksinIowa

ChooksinIowa Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 14, 2008
    Van Meter, Iowa
    Yes, you need a male and a female to have fertile eggs that would hatch. If you just want to have eggs to eat, you only need females. The females will lay eggs regardless of whether you have a rooster or not. It's just that they won't hatch.

The roo question - I only have 1 roo, bantam, and he crows, quietly, around 7 am.

Claire

3. fullhouse

fullhouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2008
    MI
    All rosters crow, sorry. 3am, 5am, 10am, mid afternoon, evening, whenever they want.

You don't need a roo for eggs, just fertilized eggs.

4. jmeeter88

Aug 18, 2008
    New Hartford, NY
    *huge sigh of relief*

For a second I thought my entire dream of living off the grid and living self-sufficiently had been smashed to pieces! Haha, but seriously, I am happy to find out that you do not need a rooster to produce eggs! I know my neighbors would most certainly not appreciate a rooster crowing at daybreak...

5. CityGirlintheCountry

CityGirlintheCountry Green Eggs and Hamlet

Jul 7, 2007
    Middle TN
    No boys required!