A newbie from Central Mississippi

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Glaed, Oct 21, 2011.

1. Glaed

Glaed New Egg

Oct 21, 2011
    I'm not good at introducing myself so I guess I'll just borrow this list.

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
    Back in mid-early May, an old friend of the family gave us 6 1-week old chicks and a 10 month wyandotte rooster. Named the rooster Riley. Chicks turned out to be 5 hens (all of mixed breeds, but two or three of them were "Easter-eggers") and a mixed breed rooster that looked like a Rhode Island Red with white tailfeathers. We let them freerange, ended up losing two of the hens before they came of laying age. And then, right after they started laying the one that laid the most eggs out of them all got caught by something and killed, and the others stopped laying and haven't started back up for some reason.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
    (3) What breeds do you have?
    Let's do two for one here. 15 mature or close to mature chickens, 7 of them bantams, 2 non-bantam roosters, 6 hens. Two of those are Barred Rocks, 4 we either don't know or I can't remember off of the top of my head.
    We got an order of brown egg layers in from a hachery today, 26 of them + two rare/exotic they threw in for free. Unfortunately one died in transport, and another is having trouble breathing and probably won't last the night. Shame. But hopefully we won't have many more losses.

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?
    My dad told me about it, since I already spend a bunch of time on my computer he got me to get on here and start reading and learning. I figured if it helps us make sure more of those chicks we just got make it to maturity, sure why not? Not like I have much better to do.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?