A pehaps overparanoid mom...

allisonw5

Hatching
11 Years
Nov 7, 2008
Hi you all!

I am new to this page and to raising chicks. I just got six arcaunas 8 days ago. They are in a carboard box with a 60 watt bulb over them and everything has been going great. We have given them recently, some grass seed, small worms and guava. They go outside everyday for about 15 minutes (we are in hawaii so it is warm). I recently began putting in grass, dirt etc into the box aside from the newspaper and they love it so I have continued that. They are active, growing vigorously and very aware. Stool seems normal. A couple have been sneezing a but, but not too often and they are otherwise acting fine.

Then I started reading about how sterile people keep their chicks environment and I got a bit worried. Am I on the right track? Now that they have some small amount of food besides (unmedicated) mash should I get grit? Am I being too easy going for them?

Thanks for any advice and help.

I'm not sure about your questions but I wanted to say welcome to this most cool website, I think you will love it here! I know I do, I live in here now.

Also, I think there are as many ways to care for chicks as there are chicks that need to be taken care of so if they are growing nicely and eating good, offer some grit along with everything else and remember to lower the heat by 5 degrees each week.

Do they have a coop or shed or barn to graduate to when they are fully feathered?

Quote:
The problem with an overly sterile environment is that the immune system may not be as strong in the end. If your chicks are doing well then keep doing what you are doing. Think of it this way. Would those chicks be in a cleaner environment if mom was raising them in a coop? No

If you have them on dirt they will pick up small stones/sand out of it. So no need to get grit.

I first want to say
welcome-byc.gif