A Polish with other breeds ok?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Ojai Doll, Jan 4, 2015.

1. Ojai Doll

Ojai Doll New Egg

Mar 28, 2014
    I have 5 chickens all born the same day (5/21/14), all different breeds. I know the Polish chickens are at a disadvantage due to their "hair dos" and often are at the bottom of the pecking order. My Polish has been brutally pecked at to the point virtually all her feathers are gone, part of her bare head looks bruised and there are some blood spots where she was pecked. This has been mostly within the past 3 months but really bad the past two weeks since it's been really cold here in Ojai, CA (by cold I mean high 20's). I've seen her getting picked on and sometimes she pecks back, it's not constant, and not all of the chickens are bullies. First of all, what can I do to help her head heal, and should I separate her from the others, and if so would it be like that forever for her? Thanks for any input. I'm new at chickens, but loving every day of it.

2. LipsChicks

LipsChicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 31, 2014
    North Dakota