A quiet rooster?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by kickinchicken, Aug 19, 2010.

1. kickinchicken

kickinchicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2010
    Rhode Island
    I am relatively new to chickenhood. (started in April) I had started out with 8 suspected pullets, 2 were boys. Rehomed the Sultan, kept the SL Wyandotte. He was a WONDERFUL rooster [​IMG] . Until he crowed-we are under cover [​IMG] . Well, we tried putting him in a dog crate inside after everyone roosted for an hour (around 9pm) and put him back out at 0830. But he would ALWAYS peck everyone to reestablish his rank [​IMG] , I guess. Well, after rehoming him and his sister, another SLW, I am down to 2 chicks and 3 pullets (got the chicks a month ago at a swap) My little flock of 5 is roo-less and I miss having a handsome chap watching out for my girls. They don't venture out as far without him.
    Is there a rooster that has a low crow or an unusual crow that wouldn't be easily identified as a rooster? I am "illegal" and I don't want to ruffle any feathers with my neighbors. I have one in particular that is a little "off". I'd really like to have another rooster and I think I made a mistake rehome the Sultan roo. His crow sounded like a kazoo. I got scared and sent him off....would a Sultan roo be ideal as they don't cock-a-doodole-doo?

2. greenfamilyfarms

greenfamilyfarms Big Pippin'

Feb 27, 2008
    Elizabethtown, NC
    I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but all breeds of roosters crow.

3. ZooMummzy

ZooMummzy Queen of the Zoo

Mar 31, 2008
    Philomath, Oregon