A reluctant Sebright rooster.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by KMeade, Aug 18, 2011.

1. KMeade

KMeade Out Of The Brooder

Jul 31, 2011
    Hello all,

I am new to all of this, but have purchased 4 sebrights. three are hens and one a rooster (allegedly). I only have them little over a week- and I know it takes time for them to settle into a new location, and they do seem quite relaxed.

So my questions are
    1. I am not seeing any mating behaviour between my rooster and hens? What shoudl i expect? Perhaps he is too old, as he does spend quite a bit of the time with his eyes closed, but has a fine appetite and does seem healthy. [I must admit that I dont actually know that that bird is a he as he and a one of the hens are identical to my eyes].
    2. Furthemore, the previous owners told me that the hens were laying and as of yet I have not seen one egg.
    3. I would like to let my sebrights free range with my other hens, but dont want to clip their wings. Is this a bad idea?

Thanks,
    Kieran

2. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Hello,

If you could post a some pics, then we could help with determining if your rooster is really a rooster and your hens are really hens......

It can take a little while for them to relax completely and begin laying again....Give them another week or even two.

I would let them free range after about two weeks in the coop. What I do at first is, I open the run just an hour or two before dark, and then they will usually go back in on their own. Don't give them too much time at first....Do this for about a week, then you can let them out longer.

They are small, so they I would be a bit careful free ranging them......Easy prey for a neighbor's cat and other predators....

Take care and good luck with your new chickens,
    Sharon

3. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio