A respiratory something in my chickens. What is it?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Gwenmarie10, Oct 15, 2011.

1. Gwenmarie10

Gwenmarie10 New Egg

Oct 15, 2011
    I am new to the backyard chicken experience. However, I should've known better than to introduce a new chicken to my other girls without an incubation period. Live and learn. Long story short I put a hen I had just acquired from a breeder in the with my 3 other backyard hens. That evening when I went to close up the coop I noticed she was coughing and sneezing. Within about 3 to 4 days my other 3 hens had come down with it. They are between 1 and 2 years old. For a while they sort of went off their feed. It's been 4 weeks now and I have treated them with 2 different rounds of antibiotics. Two of the hens have recovered somewhat and the other 2 are still coughing and sneezing. I have a set of 11 8 week old chicks that I have separated into the front yard so they don't come in contact with the chickens. I would like to get them so that I can get everybody moved into the coop before winter hits. I just vaccinated all of the chicks for viral influenza on the off chance that might be it. Any ideas? Thanks in advance for your help.

2. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop
    Respiratory infections can be pretty confusing. Here is a link to some info that I have found helpful. That is good that you vaccinated the chicks just in case. Did the labeling for the vaccine say how long it would take afterward to be fully protected against the virus?

3. Gwenmarie10

Gwenmarie10 New Egg

Oct 15, 2011