A Rooster Too Far

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by ErSwnn, Dec 28, 2013.

1. ErSwnn

ErSwnn Out Of The Brooder

Sep 2, 2013
    Crivitz
    I'm new to the chicken world, and therefore kinda stupid too. I picked up very young chickens from a craigslist ad back in June. I was told they were all hens except for the rooster we picked. Well, either I have a crossdressing hen, or I have a second rooster....and maybe a third as well. This is a small flock of 7, we started small to get out feet wet. Being newbies we want to get it right rather than large.

So, my question is......do I need to reduce the rooster population or will they make their own peace? So far the "new guy" is being mildly aggressive with one particular hen but seems to be staying out of the way with the flock OG (old gangsta, I grew up in a city).

I don't like the idea of getting rid of him/her, with such a small flock it's easy to get to know them well. He's big (no, REALLY big...I've been to the County Fair Poulty Show....this bird is big), handsome and I've known him since he was a few weeks old. But I also don't want to upset the fung-shui of the flock either.

Yeah, we can chalk this up to a newbie mistake. I just hope I don't have to learn the hard way to be SURE I'm getting all hens.

In other news, the frazzle(named Frizzle) I wrote about a while back has regained all her feathers. We took her as a charity case. She had no head or wing feathers and the rest were thin. Good nutrition, a clean enviroment, ample outdoor/sun time and our best wishes have brought her back to her intended beauty.

2. bobbi-j

bobbi-j Chicken Obsessed

Mar 15, 2010
    On the MN prairie.