A twist on the portable coop idea...

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by JohnandJacquelineW, Jun 23, 2011.

1. JohnandJacquelineW

JohnandJacquelineW Out Of The Brooder

Jun 23, 2011
    We built this a few weeks ago, but this is my first time posting on this forum (only just found it yesterday). We are pretty new to raising chickens and have been learning a lot. This was a big weekend project for the two of us. The chickens seem to really like it and my only regret is that I keep reading that the nest boxes should be lower than we put them. It is working though because our two hens that are laying age have been laying in the nest boxes to that isn't too big of a problem. I plan later to put in more in the back at a lower level later on, but for now this is doing the job. We also plan to scale up with more chickens down the road, so I may extend the roof and add more roosting areas.

These chickens free range through the day.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Edit: Pictures weren't working, had to fix the code.

Last edited: Jun 23, 2011
  2. Stacykins

Stacykins Overrun With Chickens

Jan 19, 2011
    Escanaba, MI
    I can't see the pictures for some reason, but can read their descriptions. Sounds like you have a trailer mounted on a coop! I decided to make a coop that was both road legal and easy to move. So it has working lights and is the proper size to get hitched up to a vehicle. Not that it will be going on anymore road trips, its just that it was built in a different location than it lives now, so instead of putting it on a flatbed, it became a trailer so I can move it around the yard.

[​IMG]

3. JohnandJacquelineW

Jun 23, 2011
    Quote:Haha, nice [​IMG] Can you see my pictures now? I changed the code a little bit. (forgot to put the "http://" in the image links)