Aaracana, Ameraucana, (Americana), Easter Eggers

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by DreamsInPink, May 13, 2016.

1. DreamsInPink

DreamsInPink Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm really new to chickens and I know there are tons of threads and articles and debates about this breed. Here is what I think I know...

Easter Eggers are kind of the mutt version of Ameraucana, right?
    Americana isn't even a breed, it's a misspelling of Ameraucauna, right?

But what's an Aracana?

And what is the major attraction of Ameraucaunas anyway? :confused:

I'm just trying to learn a little bit here. I have 3 EE ordered from MPC for June. I'm just looking forward to getting some green and/or blue eggs.

Last edited: May 13, 2016
  2. OrganicFarmWife

OrganicFarmWife Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 21, 2015
    No where Nebraska
    They talk about this extensively on the Easter Eggers thread. This is what I took from someone who claims to have helped create the Ameraucana.

The Easter Eggers are not a proper breed. They are what is called a landrace
    Ameraucana were developed using the Easter Eggers line. They used Easter Eggers and selectively created a proper breed
    Yes Americana is just a misspelling

3. junebuggena

junebuggena Chicken Obsessed

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    x2
    It's the Ameraucana that has Easter Egger in them, not the other way around.
    And Araucana is a rumpless breed that has ear tufts, not muffs (fluffy cheeks). They have yellow skin/legs, and lay blue eggs.
    The main attraction for Ameraucana is the reliability. You know what you are getting, and you can be sure of blue eggs.
    There are no guarantees with Easter Eggers, since they have never been bred selectively toward a specific standard.
    Americana and Americauna are intentional misspellings that some breeders and hatcheries use to trick uneducated buyers into thinking they are getting Ameraucana, when, in reality, they are just Easter Eggers.