? about cornish x for newbie

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by chkinut, Feb 3, 2012.

1. chkinut

chkinut Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2010
    Leesburg, Ohio
    hi! i'm not new to chickens, but i AM new to purchasing cornish x. my friend and i would like to get a few for our families to try this "butchering your own chicken" thing out....lol. anyway, i do NOT live in the country, but i have had chickens for over 2 years without any problems. no roosters are allowed. so my question is, would i be able to "get away with" having rooster cornish x's? when do they start to crow? if we butchered at 6 weeks, would we be safe? also, at what age do you normally butcher anyway? 6 weeks? 7? and are the cornish x much easier to pluck because they are so young? (verses plucking a 2 yr old hen) thanks for any help. oh, also, do the roosters taste better than the hens? or are they the same?

2. americanvalkyrie

americanvalkyrie Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 20, 2011
    Reno, NV
    Limited experience here...

But, a month ago, I considered filling in the gaps of a hatchery order with cornish crosses. I figured, since they're going to be butchered in 6-8 weeks, it won't be much of a problem. I looked up threads here, talking about cornish crosses. Two things that popped up a lot... they're LOUD and they STINK worse than the average chicken. After considering the toll it would take on relationships with my neighbors, and balancing out the cost per bird after feed, and sharing space with my good laying hens, I decided to keep spending more for a healthy-raised grocery store chicken. I didn't want to jeopardize relationships, which might make it more difficult to keep my laying hens.

But, like I said, I have little experience here. Even as a kid, we never raised cornish crosses. We butchered the roosters of our cross-bred laying flock.

3. booker81

booker81 Redneck Tech Girl

Apr 18, 2010
    Mid-MI