FionaRose

In the Brooder
Jul 3, 2018
staying home, usa
Hello! I’m Fiona, and I just made an account today. Thought I’d answer some of these questions for this site, and add some info about myself :)

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
I’d say yes, I am very new to chickens haha. My family first picked up 6 chicks at a local place that was selling them, as my siblings and I had finally convinced our father (he’s always wanted to be a farmer and this might be the closest we get) We added another 2 a few days later and we’re very excused to raise them. This was last April, 2017.
They were all so funny and interesting, and had their own personalities, which was very amusing to watch. My father warned us not to name them, but we couldn’t help it and had already picked out names before even leaving the store! Haha, it was practically unavoidable. It’s been quite the journey learning about them and getting our hands dirty, but definitely worth it.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
As of now we have 10 chickens. Only 5 are from the original flock. We were lucky enough to have only gotten two roosters from the original, but one was far too aggressive and caused too much stress for the hens (and my mother) so we had to give him away.
We also hatched 5 new chicks this spring from our hens, and are watching them grow right from eggs! Unfortunately we lost two hens from our original flock just a few days ago due to an attack, and are working to ensure it doesn’t happen anytime soon again.

(3) What breeds do you have?
As of now we have two White Leghorn hens, a Rhode Island Red rooster and hen, one ISA Brown, and our chicks are a mix of the Rhode Island and the others (We had to give away the Plymouth Rock rooster, but he was a beautiful bird).

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?