1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

About Sussex Chickens!

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by CashmereSussex, Mar 28, 2007.

1. CashmereSussex

CashmereSussex Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2007
    Hi im wondering about sussex chicken, im new to the breed but i have a light Sussex rooster and 4 pullets, i want to know a bit about the breed and how to choose a show quality one, it would be highly apprieciated, as im only 14 i dont know much about the breed and it is hard to find information of the breed over the internet and books:)

2. jimnjay

jimnjay Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Bryant Alabama
    Have you tried Feathersite. They usually have breed club information on the page with each breed. I feel sure there must be a breed club in England at the least. If you contact the club I am sure they could help you.

3. V Chic Chick

V Chic Chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Bristol, England
    Sussex are great, I started off with them at 12, three years ago.

The addresses of the breed club secreataries are

The Sussex Club
    Mr. M. N. Raisey
    Rosebarn Farm, Burlscombe
    Tiverton, Devon EX16 7JJ
    England
    phone: 00441823672789

The Scottish Sussex Club
    Mrs. R. Airken
    Hillberry, Dunnotter, Stonehaven,
    Kincardinshire, AB3 2XB
    Scotland
    phone: 00441569766775

http://feathersite.com/Poultry/CGP/Sussex/BRKSussex.html

You can find details of the breed standard in a book called the standard of perfection (US) and British poultry standards (UK) but the books are expensive.

4. dragon

dragon Out Of The Brooder

Apr 3, 2007
    brainerd mn
    eye candy

5. CashmereSussex

Mar 28, 2007
    well i live in Australia so i can't really ring those numbers

6. CashmereSussex

Mar 28, 2007