About to cuss! These new incubators! ARGH!!! Temperature woes.

Julie_A

Songster
11 Years
Apr 20, 2008
Brewton, Ala.
I was given three hovabator still air incubators. I think a kid must have played with them. I don't know. Have been trying to get a decent temp for a week and half and still nothing. Varies from 75 up to 112.
rant.gif
Never in between. Any tips?

I'm getting desperate!
barnie.gif

Are they really clean? Could a fleck of dust or debris be on the controls? Is the room you are testing them in temperature stable? I'm not experienced with this, but have had dusty house thermostats that didn't operate correctly.

Good luck with resolving the issues and congratulations on being gifted with 3 of them.

Georgia in Alabama

I know nothing about incubators, having never owned one but....when I was learning to fly, I had to learn to make small corrections. Making a correction that felt "right" often swung me too far and I just ended up with the same reverse problem. It occurs to me that incubators might work similarly, in that you might need to set it, then wait 24 hours for the temperature to stabilize, and then make small adjustments, each time waiting 24 hours to see what the result of the adjustment is, rather than trying to make big adjustments to get it to that middle point.

I personally do not like wafer thermostats, I would opt to go with the auto thingy that Hovabators have. Might be a little pricey but well worth the price! I have one for five years so far and had some minor wear and tear repairs on it this year. I would not trade mine for anything!

A knob would do it well because wafers are so touchy!

Have you looked at the GQF site? They have all the instruction manuals posted in case you don't have the ones that came with your machines. Replacement thermostats are about $17.00.

Georgia in Alabama